SAVANNA… Today, State Representative Tony McCombie (IL-71) announced over $16,000 will be awarded from IL Secretary of State Jesse White’s School Library Grant program to a dozen local school districts. School districts that applied for the grant are awarded at least $750 to improve their library.

“As an avid reader, I am excited to announce this grant money to help our local school districts’ libraries. Libraries around the district are taking a new shape and this grant will mean so much to our schools who are looking to buy new books and technology for their library,” said State Rep. Tony McCombie.

The School District Library Grant Program is designed to help provide more library books and materials for the students of public schools in Illinois. The state legislature has authorized up to a $.75 per pupil expenditure for qualifying schools. The grant award is based on funds appropriated by the General Assembly and the official enrollment as of the previous September 30th of a school district.

“As a former public school teacher and administrator, I know our school libraries are very important in helping students learn and prepare themselves for the future,” said Illinois Secretary of State and State Librarian, Jesse White. “Illinois was the first state to implement a school district grant program for libraries, and I am pleased that we can continue to provide them with some of the financial resources they need to produce well-educated students.”

The awarded local School District Library Grants are as follows:

Colona Grade School District #190
Erie CUSD #1
River Bend Community Unit District #2
Morrison Community Unit School District #6
Riverdale Community Unit District #100
Port Byron
Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUD 3
Rock Falls Township High School #301
Rock Falls
Sterling CUSD #5
United Township High School District #30
East Moline
East Moline School District #37
East Moline
Rock Island/Milan School District #41
Rock Island
Silvis School District #34
Total Awarded


Pictured: Sen. Chuck Weaver (IL-37), Sen. Neil Anderson (IL-36), Henry Co. Farm Bureau Manager Jan Weber, Rep. Dan Swanson (IL-74), and Rep. Tony McCombie (IL-71)
Consider giving blood, because it saves lives. Everyday in the United States, doctors and hospitals use over 36,000 units of red blood, 7,000 units of platelets and 10,000 units of plasma every day while treating patients. Your donations will make a difference. 

To learn where you can give blood to help people in our community, visit: 

Representative Swanson and I celebrated the New Year with the Rock Island Arsenal Leadership Team! Always an honor and pleasure to spend time and say THANK YOU to those that serve and protect us!

The Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) helps keep families safe and healthy through initiatives that assist families with energy costs. Federally funded assistance in managing costs associated with; home energy bills, energy crises, weatherization and energy-related minor home repairs. LIHEAP can help you stay warm this winter through programs that reduce the risk of health and safety problems that arise from unsafe heating and cooling practices. Below are the income guidelines for LIHEAP eligibility:

Carroll and Whiteside County residents should contact the Tri-County Opportunities Council in Rock Falls to determine their eligibility for the program. Their phone numbers are (800) 323-5434 and (815) 625-7830 and their website is Henry and Rock Island County residents should contact Project NOW at (309) 793-3970 or by visiting
For residents with Jo-Carroll Energy, Jo Carroll offers a neighbor to neighbor program in tandem with the LIHEAP program, call (800) 858-5522 or visit for additional information.
Local townships also provide General Assistance to help with emergency financial situations. Each township offers different benefits and has separate eligibility requirements. Residents should contact their local township office to determine if they are eligible.